2020 BAGEP Awards announced

Five Sabancı University faculty members receive 2020 Academy of Science BAGEP Awards.

The Academy of Science announced the winners of the 2020 Young Scientist Awards Program (BAGEP). Two members of the Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences (FENS), two members of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (FASS), and one member of the School of Management won awards.

FENS faculty member Emrah Eroğlu won the award in biology and Kağan Kurşungöz in mathematics, FASS member Cenk Özbay in sociology and Emre Selçuk in psychology, and SOM faculty member Yiğit Atılgan won the award in management. Faculty members will conduct their funded projects for a term of two years.

The Academy of Science's Young Scientist Awards Program (BAGEP) aims to support young and promising academics with extraordinary potential with a prestigious fellowship that will help them develop their research projects. Endowed in 2013, the awards have been presented to 317 scholars so far, including 40 awards this year.

The BAGEP Awards by the Academy of Science are given to academics under the age of 40 and entail a cash prize of TL 20,000 per year for a duration of two years to support research.

The award ceremony was postponed due to Covid-19.

Release date: 29.07.2020 11:29:08